Distracted driving is a serious problem, and Nevada is now joining other states that ban the use of cell phones while driving.
The RGJ reports that Gov. Brian Sandoval signed into law a bill that makes texting or talking while driving illegal in Nevada.
The law allows exceptions for using hands-free devices. Fines range from $50 to $250, and a person convicted of three or more offenses within seven years can have their license suspended.
The fines and penalties become effective Jan. 1, 2012.
Steve is the Managing Shareholder of Steven J. Klearman & Associates, a civil litigation law firm located in Reno, Nevada. He practices primarily in the areas of civil litigation and injury law, and has authored one of the definitive guides to Nevada civil law that is widely used by Nevada judges and attorneys, his book entitled Elements of Nevada Legal Theories.